Day 6: Pick Up Trash at the Park

“Today I bent the truth to be kind, and I have no regret, for I am fare surer of what is kind than I am of what is true.” –Robert Brault

IMG_0400

I have a special place in my heart for the park. The glint of sunshine coming through the summer canopy. The crunch of leaves beneath my feet in the fall. The brisk walks with hot chocolate in hand in the winter. And the sound of kids laughing, relishing in the springtime thaw. I love everything about it. Not to mention, it is the location where my husband proposed to me!

There is a local park, about two miles from my apartment, that I have been going to since I was young. I’m a firm believer that every person can benefit from a little time spent walking in the woods. Emerson said it best when he wrote “In the woods we return to reason and faith.” A walk in the woods gives me a sense of peace; it helps me feel centered. It clears my mind of worries and fears and leaves me feeling refreshed and more alive than before I began.

I take great pride in the local metropark system and spend a lot of time there with my family. Unfortunately, like all public outdoor areas, it sometimes becomes littered. Park staff and volunteers are great about picking up trash that falls on or near the trails, but I’ve noticed there are areas further off the trails where trash has accumulated. I made it my mission today to pick it up.

When Brad, Oliver and I headed to the park for our normal Sunday walk I brought along some fashionable yellow cleaning gloves and a large garbage bag I hoped to fill.

IMG_0379

As we walked along I picked up any trash I saw. I made sure we went past the creek that runs through the middle of the park since a lot of debris gets trapped along the banks there. I shimmied my way down to the creek edge while Brad and Oliver observed from the boardwalk. As I leaned precariously over the water plucking up McDonalds cups and Snickers wrappers, Brad informed passerbys that, yes I was okay, and no I was not crazy.

By the end of the walk I had a flushed face, a nice sweat going, and a huge smile of my face. Who knew a bag of garbage could make a girl so happy.

IMG_0404

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

