Day 7: Bake Cupcakes for Everyone at my Doctor’s Office

“You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.” –Ralph Waldo Emerson

IMG_0428

I like to bake. I mean I really like to bake. Cookies, cakes, brownies, chocolate covered, sprinkled, ooey-gooey, melt-in-your-mouth treats. I don’t discriminate when it comes to sugar.

Other people like to eat my baked goods. My baking skills and other people’s eating skills, it’s a match made in heaven. When I first dreamed up my 29 Random Acts of Kindness project it was hard to not make every item on my list “bake something.” Holding off until day seven took a lot of will power.

But when I came across this recipe for pumpkin cupcakes with cinnamon cream cheese frosting I knew I couldn’t wait any longer. Since I had a doctor’s appointment scheduled today, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to make them.

During my last pregnancy, I got to know the staff and nurses at my doctor’s office very well. Despite my hormonal pregnant lady concerns that I badgered them with at each visit, they were always extremely friendly and welcoming. They made me feel at ease about my concerns and treated me more like family than just another patient. I credit them with my zen-like attitude leading up to Oliver’s Birthday**

I bought some cute Wilton boxes to hold the cupcakes, and thanks to a piping bag and tip, managed to make the cupcakes look like bakery quality creations. And since a taste-test was essential to ensure maximum quality, I even got to eat one myself.

IMG_0436

** My husband disputes this “zen-like attitude,” and credits my new-mommy brain for this memory.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Day 7: Bake Cupcakes for Everyone at my Doctor’s Office

  1. I have done this many times but for my friends at a Starbucks I frequent and all the patrons, and my Lemon Sunshine Cookies when friends least expect them.

    The smiles are always worth it.

    I rebogged this on
    http://www.CookingUpaStormWithMissPolly.com

    Paulette Le Pore Motzko
    (Polly Motzko)

  2. Such a wonderful story!! I loved it and I’m so glad you were inspired by the recipe. They turned out beautiful!

  3. […] previous posts I talked about how thankful I am for both my doctor and the nurses at the hospital where I gave birth. Well now I have a third source to credit for […]

Leave a Reply

