Day 8: Buy Coffee for a Stranger

This is my simple religion. There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness.” –Dalai Lama

IMG_0449

I have a slight addiction to coffee. And by slight addiction I mean I drink it every day. And by every day I mean multiple times a day. You get the picture. Most of the time I act as my own barista and whip up creamy, steamy concoctions at home. Both my husband and my bank account are very grateful for this. Every once in a awhile though, I indulge in a coffee from Starbucks.

Today I thought I’d indulge both myself and the person behind me in the drive-thru line. After ordering I pulled around the pick-up window, got my coffee, and then realized there was no one in line behind me. Helpful hint: if you’re going to pay for the person behind you line, there has to be someone behind you in line. I waited at the window for a couple minutes but no one came. I guess 3pm isn’t prime coffee drinking time?

I left the Starbucks wondering if I’d have to reevaluate my random act of the day. While out running errands a little bit later, I drove past a different Starbucks. I decided to give it a go again. I waited in my car right in front of the drive-thru until someone pulled in behind me and then made my move, passing on ordering in favor of just pulling right up to the pick-up window. I explained to the slightly confused cashier what I wanted to do, handed her my RAOK note with instructions to give it to the next car, and then drove off. Mission accomplished! I felt great!

IMG_0454

 I will say Mr. Stranger has much different coffee consumption habits than me. For starters he drinks tea, not coffee. Then there is the soy milk; I opt for whole. He takes his drink with no syrup, no whip. I’m an extra syrup, extra whip kind of girl. I can’t say I would enjoy drinking his beverage. But I did enjoying paying for it.

IMG_0489

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

