Day 9: Leave Money Taped to Vending Machines

“What wisdom can you find that is greater than kindness.” –Rousseau

IMG_0496

Before I get into today’s random act, I want to talk about something that I’ve realized over the last eight days. Doing a random act of kindness each day has altered the way I experience the world around me. Most notably, I notice more opportunities for kindness than I ever did before.

In the past, I’ve often gone about my day somewhat oblivious to the people around me. I focus on my son’s needs, myself, and what needs to get done that day. I feel too busy to be bothered by what other people are doing. Putting myself in the mindset of giving…of helping…of being kind has changed that.

In the last eight days alone I’ve discovered multiple opportunities for kindness that I honestly don’t believe I would have seen prior. For example, I noticed my elderly neighbor carrying bags out to his car and asked if he needed help. Or at the drive-thru the woman in front of me dropped her change out the window. I got out of my car to pick it up for her. I’m guessing it’s not just a coincidence that these have happened within the last week. I’m guessing they’ve been occurring the whole time. I’m just now in the mindset to notice them.

IMG_0500

Today’s act of kindness took me to the local hospital where I taped money to all the vending machines. Whether it’s a hardworking hospital employee that finds the money or a hospital visitor or patient, I’m hoping this small surprise will make them smile.

I know paying for someone’s snack isn’t world-altering, but I really like the idea that it’s the small things we do that set the foundation for big changes.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Day 9: Leave Money Taped to Vending Machines

  1. sherwinjen says:

    This is my favorite one so far. It is very likely that some of the people finding those were walking about the hospital while waiting for news on a loved one, or taking a break from a stressful situation, or trying to recharge for the second half of their shift. As someone who has been there, standing at the vending machines digging through my purse for change to buy a candy bar at 2:00 am to keep me awake after a long day with my mom, I bet those dollars were appreciated more than you can imagine.

Leave a Reply

