Day 10: Surprise a Kid With a Souvenir

“In a world full of people who couldn’t care less, be someone who couldn’t care more.” –Unknown

IMG_0515

Last week my dad surprised Brad and me with tickets to see the Detroit Tigers play the Boston Red Sox in the ALCS. We were ecstatic! Brad has been a lifetime Tiger’s fan, and I, a Cleveland Indian’s fan, just enjoy a good baseball game. It might have something to do with my deep appreciation for ball park soft pretzels and hotdogs. What is it about a cold plastic seat, a cheering crowd, and athletes in tight pants that make those pretzels taste so dang good?

When I learned we would be going to the game on Thursday, I knew I wanted to carry out my random act of kindness at the ball park. I have so many fond memories of going to Cleveland Indian’s games as a kid. As an adult it’s easy to get swept up in the excitement of the crowd, the suspense of each pitch, and the thrill of a home game win. As a kid, it’s all that times 1000.

I thought it would be a great surprise to find an unsuspecting kid and, with their parent’s permission, give them a souvenir. When we got to the stadium I found a stand selling Tiger’s apparel and picked out a cute baseball cap. We then made our way to our seats where I began my search for a hatless kid.

Somewhere around the 4th inning I went to get a drink from the concessions when I spotted my unsuspecting recipient. It was a young boy, probably around 10-years-old waiting in line with his dad to buy ice cream. I got in line behind them, and as they were leaving the stand, presented the hat to the somewhat confused kid. I briefly explained I was doing a random acts of kindness project and that I hoped he would accept the hat as my act of the day. With his dad’s approval he took the hat, and I quickly made my exit.

The Tiger’s ended up losing to Boston 3-4 last night, but that’s not really what matters. Going to a baseball game, especially as a kid, is more about the time spent with people you love. Sharing a ball park hot dog. Singing Take Me Out to the Ball Game in unison. High-fiving when you’re team scores a run. And now hopefully for that 10-year-old kid, it will also be about that time a stranger surprised him with a hat.

IMG_0508

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

